Desktop PC’s: Take The Easy Route or Build It Yourself?

technology-1371358_1920

Going to your local tech store and just buying a new computer that is already built is by far much easier. Just buy it, bring it home, plug it in. Finished. Sounds great, hm? Usually you will find a lot of systems that are lacking at least one thing. They have great graphics, but the RAM just doesn’t add up. Or vice versa. You might actually be paying for more than you are getting! And who wants that? Not only that but pre-built systems will usually have a ton of useless software and utilities already installed. Why fork out the cash to pay for pre-installed apps on a pre-built system when you don’t want even know if you want them?

These days, you may come across someone who prefers to build their own computer, as opposed to buying a pre-built computer.  Although the amount of people who buy pre-builds is still much, much higher, building your own computer is becoming a little more common, especially for those people who are power users, hardcore gamers, or wannabe tech wizards like myself. In the United States you would come across this a little more often. In Austria, you would perhaps see custom builds non-existent. There are many advantages for building your own computer though, which is why I offer it as a service at my business. For one, you know exactly what it can do (or can’t do) because you custom built it, or had someone else custom build it for you. Second, you can focus your build directly for one sole-purpose. Perhaps you want a gaming PC, or maybe a home theater PC? If you are running your own server then you most likely run it separately from your own server PC. These are just a few examples. Building your own personal computer is exciting, and if done correctly it can be rewarding. Of course, this requires a lot of skill and knowledge, and if not done properly can be very stressful, challenging, and much more expensive than you originally intended!

I currently build computers for myself, as well as for my friends. I used to only do this as a hobby, but I love doing it so that is why I started a business specializing in computer services where custom builds and repairs is just a slice of the services offered.

I was not in the market for having the best, or the most powerful computer on the block. I was not an average user, but then again I was not a super-hardcore power-user. I mainly used the computer for browsing the internet, word processing, some programming, as well as gaming. When searching for hardware, I was looking for the hardware bargain sales that were possibly a few steps above the really cheap stuff, and I stuck to 32-bit systems. I’m talking about a simple Core 2 Duo processor, maybe 2 GB of RAM, and a graphics card that allowed me to play Minesweeper. Okay, the last part was a joke, of course. As you can tell, I was definitely limited, but it was all I needed. I did love Minesweeper though…

Sometimes you need more power though. And their is more fun when more power is involved. A system I built for one of my best friends who is an engineer needed more than your average 32-bit. He often works from home, and brings his work home with him, which meant he would be running AutoCAD on his home computer. So he needed a much more powerful system then I had ever built at the time: a 64-bit system, to address the amount of RAM needed to run software like AutoCAD. Also, he needed a fast, powerful CPU that could perform the vast amount of mathematical calculations. And finally, since AutoCAD is quite graphic intense, he needed a powerful graphics card adapter. This was quite the difference between his computer and mine. To play Minesweeper on that system must have been incredible.

As you can see, it takes a little more effort when building your own PC. But when you build your own, you know exactly what you are paying for each component, and you know exactly the outcome you will get because you built it, piece by piece.

Leave a Reply

