The Person Behind The QWERTZ

keyboard-1747081_1920

Before I go on, I guess I could tell you a little about the person behind the QWERTZ keyboard.

I’m originally from the United States; born and raised in the great state of Oregon, to be more exact. I spent 10 years as a soldier in the United States Army and Army National Guard. Throughout that time I was a tank mechanic, artillery mechanic, and military police officer. I repaired the mechanics, electronic systems, subsystems, and weapon systems of over six different tanks.

After the service I moved back home to Oregon. And since my life didn’t belong to the United States Army anymore, I decided I would do the thing I wanted to do ever since I was a little boy, and that was to become a firefighter. And after six months of training, I was a member of the fire department for my little hometown of only 3,000 people. It was nice to be a part of something important again. And being a firefighter in America is something that non-Americans just don’t understand. But, unfortunately, some things just don’t last.

I had met a wonderful woman during my time living on the east coast. She was from Austria, and visiting NYC when we crossed paths. And we kept in touch quite often. To keep a long story short, we decided to be more than just friends. And to keep a longer story even shorter, I decided that it would be easier if I just moved to Austria to be with her. I was a part of something important again. I moved to Austria in April of 2015, and in September we flew back to the Oregon for an official wedding with the family.

I know what you’re probably thinking. That’s quite a significant change in only a year! During my time here in Austria I have been trying to better my German, which is not easy since I have to learn German, as well as the Austrian slang to German. I’m improving, but nowhere near fluent. So, to translate this blog from English to German (since it’s good to have this in both languages) I have the help of my lovely wife, Birgit.

As you could understand, it was rather difficult for me to get a job here since I am not fluent in the mother language. So I had to come up with something. And from the time I can remember, I’ve always had an interest in electronics and computers. I was just a youngster when I had my first computer, which happened to be a Commodore 64. Now who remembers those? Now that I think about it, I was on a pretty good path knowing my way around DOS at that age. As I grew older I found myself learning some HTML because you didn’t have much choice back then. I didn’t build my first system until much later. Nowadays, that is all I will ever do, and will continue to do so. I’ve built my last three systems, as well as a couple systems for close friends. When I discovered that such a thing like Arduino and Raspberry Pi existed, I started concentrating more on programming and electrical schematics (which I learned in the military).

So, after going back and forth as to how I can bring in some income, we decided that since I have an interest in building and repairing computers, why not start my own business doing that? It would be a long journey to make that happen. And although I did not need any certification to repair computers, I thought it would be nice to have at least something saying I can do such a thing. So I studied like a crazed scientist, day, after day, after day. And it drove Birgit insane! And after about 6 months of stress, practice tests, and reading book, after book, after book (!!), I am now CompTIA A+ certified. And my hair is starting to grow back in as well, which is a relief.

So that brings us to 2016, or at the time of this writing anyway. Everything is coming together. If all goes well, we should meet our deadline of opening the business the beginning of next year. We decided to name the business Herneisen Elite Technologies.

The services I plan on offering, as of now:

  • Complete hardware repair/replace and upgrades on desktop computers
  • Complete repair/replace of laptop systems including screen replacements and motherboard replacements
  • Solder Repair
  • Data recovery
  • PC maintenance and diagnostics
  • New build and upgrades consulting
  • Custom builds
  • Performance and tune-ups
  • Malware removal, password recovery, and Wi-Fi setups
  • As well as the troubleshooting and repair of other peripherals, such as printers and scanners.

I also plan to make video tutorials of hardware breakdowns, repairs, re-assemblies of computers, and other common electronics when I have available time to do so.

Like I said in my previous post, I would appreciate any feedback you have! I’m new to this and there is much to learn so please, feel free to contact me with what you think, what you would like to see, or if you have any advice for me! Thank you for stopping by and hope you decide to stick around!


Bevor wir nun starten, könnten ich euch ein wenig über mich, die Person hinter der QUERTZ Tastatur, erzählen.

Ich bin ursprünglich aus den USA, geboren und aufgewachsen im wunderschönen Staat Oregon. Zuletzt war ich als Soldat bei der U.S. Army und dem Army National Guard beschäftigt. Während dieser Zeit war ich unter anderem Panzer- und Artillerie-Mechaniker oder Militärpolizist. Ich reparierte die Mechanik, die elektrischen System und Subsysteme, sowie die Waffensystem von über sechs verschiedenen Panzern.

Nach 10 Jahren Service zog ich zurück in meinen Heimatstaat Oregon. Da ich nun nicht mehr im Dienste der U.S. Army stand, erfüllte ich mir einen Herzenswunsch. Ich absolvierte die Ausbildung zum Feuerwehrmann. Nach sechs Monaten Training war ich ein Mitglied der Feuerwehr in meiner Heimatgemeinde. Es fühlte sich toll an, etwas so Wichtiges zu tun. Ein Feuerwehrmann in Amerika zu sein, ist etwas, dass Nicht-Amerikaner meist nicht verstehen können.

Aber auch das sollte sich bald ändern. Während meiner Zeit an der Ostküste traf ich eine wundervolle Frau. Sie war auch Österreich und in New York City kreuzten sich unsere Wege. Wir hielten einen ziemlich innigen Kontakt und um diese Geschichte hier etwas abzukürzen, wir beschlossen mehr als nur Freunde zu sein. Und um auch das abzukürzen, beschloss ich nach Österreich zu ziehen um mit ihr sein zu können. Ich zog im April 2015 mit Sack und Pack nach Österreich, im September folgte die offizielle Hochzeit mit unseren Familien in Oregon.

Wahrscheinlich denkst du dir jetzt dasselbe wie ich! ‘Na das sind aber ganz schön viele Veränderungen in nur einem Jahr!’ Seit ich in Österreich bin, versuche ich mein Deutsch zu verbessern und das ist nicht wirklich einfach, da ich Deutsch und den österreichischen Dialekt lernen muss. Es wird immer besser, aber natürlich nicht annähernd fließend. Also um diesen Blog von Englisch nach Deutsch zu übersetzen (was ich ganz wichtig finde!), hilft mir meine Frau Birgit.

Bestimmt kannst du auch verstehen, dass es eher schwierig ist, hier einen Job für mich zu finden – immerhin ist mein Deutsch noch nicht so gut. Deshalb überlegten wir lange… und ich hatte wirklich schon immer ein großes Interesse an Elektronik und Computer. Als kleiner Junge bekam ich meinen ersten Computer – einen Commodore 64. Wer erinnert sich noch an die? Und wenn ich so darüber nachdenke, für mein Alter war ich richtig gut in DOS! Und als ich älter wurde, lernte ich HTML – damals hattest du gar eine andere Möglichkeit. Meinen ersten Computer baute ich später! Und heute, heute ist das alles, das ich tun möchte – Arbeiten mit Computern. Ich habe meine letzten drei Rechner selbst gebaut, sowie ein paar Computersysteme für gute Freunde. Dann hörte ich über Arduino und Raspberry Pi und konzentrierte mich mehr auf das Programmieren sowie die elektrischen Schemen dahinter (das lernte ich im Militär!).

Nach einem langen Hin und Her und vielen Gedanken, wie ich denn auch etwas Einkommen einbringen könnte, dachte ich, ich habe ein großes Interesse am Bau und an der Reparatur von Computern, warum also nicht mein eigenes, kleines Business machen und genau das tun? Es wird eine lange Reise werden, um diesen Plan auch wirklich umzusetzen. Und auch wenn ich keine Zertifikate benötigen würde, um Computer zu reparieren, wollte ich zumindest etwas in der Hand haben, dass auch zeigt, dass ich weiß, wovon ich spreche. Ich lernte also Tag und Nacht, was Birgit wahnsinnig machte, und machte dann nach 6 Monaten meine CompTIA A+ Prüfungen. Ich war nun endlich auch CompTIA A+ zertifiziert!

So und nun sind wir in Mitten (…naja, eigentlich schon fast gegen Ende) 2016 und langsam   kommt auch alles zusammen. Wenn alles gut läuft, sollte ich am Beginn des nächsten Jahres mein eigenes, kleines Unternehmen eröffnen. Der Name wird lauten ‘Herneisen Elite Technologies‘.

Am Beginn werde ich folgende Services anbieten:

  • Hardware Reparatur, Ersatz sowie Upgrade an Stand-PCs
  • Reparatur und Ersatz von Laptops sowie Bildschirm-Tausch
  • Lötarbeiten und Reparaturen
  • Datenrettung
  • PC Wartung und Diagnose
  • Beratung in Sachen Upgrade bzw. Wunsch-PC
  • Anfertigung von Wunsch-PC
  • Performance und Tuning bzw. Upgrade
  • Bekämpfung von Viren, Passwort-Wiederherstellung und Internet-Konfiguration
  • sowie die Fehlersuche und Fehlerbekämpfung von anderen Geräten wie Druckern oder Scannern.

Hier auf diesem Blog möchte ich auch einige Video-Tutorials von Hardware-Reparaturen, dem Zusammenbau von Computern oder anderen Dingen posten, sofern es die Zeit erlaubt.

Wie schon gesagt, ich freue mich über jedes Feedback. Ich bin – gerade was Bloggen betrifft – ein Neuling auf diesem Gebiet und es gibt viel zu lernen. Teil mir in einem Kommentar mit, was du denkst oder was du sehen bzw. lesen möchtest! Danke für’s Lesen und hey, schau bald wieder vorbei!

Leave a Reply

